Skip to Main Content

Databases

We have 60+ databases to give our patrons access to information that is not easily found on the Internet. 
You will need your Library card to use them from home. Some of our databases have mobile apps!
 




 
        A-B  C-E  F-I  J-M  N-P  Q-S  T-Z
 
AtoZ Food America
This exciting new resource contains more than 2,000 state, regional, and ethnic recipes—including food culture articles—as well as historical and reference articles including an ingredients section. Try our tutorial to help you get started!
 
AtoZ Maps Online
Thousands of maps for homework or pleasure. Outline maps, antique maps, political maps, geologic maps, biologic maps, and more. Also, Flags of the World, crossword puzzles, and other teaching tools. 
 
AtoZ The USA
Comprehensive US state and territory resource with 56 US state and territory guides of 146 topics each. USA country data covers 104 categories.
 
AtoZ The World
Current information on world cultures, covering everything from childhood, dating, marriage, family, and funerals to cultural faux pas.  Includes up-to-date and standardized statistics, allowing you to more easily compare one country to another.
 
AtoZ World Food
Food culture for 174 countries of the world in six categories: National Cuisine, Regional Cuisine, Daily Meals, Dining Etiquette, Special Occasion Foods, and Food Trivia. Recipes from all course categories: appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, and beverages. Try our tutorial to help you get started!
 
Academic OneFile
A collection of full-text articles with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and other subjects. Try our tutorial to help you use Academic OneFile.
 
Ancestry Library Edition
The online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
Try our tutorial to help you use Ancestry Library Edition.
 
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Enables you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. You can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.
 
Biography in Context
This resource combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to websites.
 
Business Insights: Global
Business Insights: Global is a unique source for international business intelligence offering the most comprehensive and convenient way to find case studies, in-depth statistical data coupled with deep research, and the ability to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
 
Find Illinois home sale, business license, foreclosure, and bankruptcy records. Perform background checks.
 
Chicago Consumers' Checkbook
This resource evaluates the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and insurance companies.
 
Chicago Community News Coverage
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2010-present), and Park Ridge Herald-Advocate (1995-present) full-text articles.
 
Chicago Sun-Times Collection (1986 - present)
Explore Chicago history through local news, events, and people with the Chicago Sun-Times Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.
 
Chicago Tribune (1985 - present)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1985 - present.
 
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1997)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1849-1997. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue.
 
Consumer Reports
Expert product reviews and product ratings including Cars Best Deals Plus. Try our tutorial to help you navigate Consumer Reports!
 
Creativebug
1000+ online art and crafts classes with expert step-by-step instructions plus patterns, templates, and recipes from Joann Fabrics. These tutorials are perfect for crafters of all skill levels, and are accessible at home, at the library, or on the go. Try our tutorial to get started! 
 
Daily Herald (1995-present)
Find information on the Chicago area and national news coverage for business, education, government, politics, sports, and more. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
 
eRead Illinois
A new service that offers additional eBooks for checkout. Limit 5 checkouts at a time. Visit the eRead Illinois Digital Catalog to browse the collection and check out eBooks. eRead Illinois is supported by the Illinois Secretary of State through the Illinois State Library. Try our tutorial to help you use eRead Illinois.
 
ERIC
Journal articles and reports in education. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.
Remote Access is not available
 
A digital magazine service where you’ll find popular magazines you can read on a computer or a device with an Internet connection and your Park Ridge Public Library card. Try our tutorial to help you use Flipster!
 
Gale Directory Library
Contains a variety of electronic versions of print directories with company information, directories in print, and consultants.
 
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Thousands of full-text reference sources including arts, biography, business, history, literature, medicine, and more. Try our tutorial to help you use Gale eBooks.
 
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.  
 
HeritageHub (Formerly America’s Obituaries & Death Notices)
A library resource to help genealogists and family historians explore and learn more about their lineage. HeritageHub provides comprehensive coverage of obituaries and death notices from 1704 through today. Manually indexed obituaries enhance search accuracy for deeper family connections. Coverage from all 50 U.S. states and territories. 
 
Heritage Quest
Census records, family and local histories, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and more. Try our tutorial to help you get started.
 
Hoopla Digital Music and Movies
Borrow free digital movies, TV shows, ebooks, audiobooks, comic books and music with your Park Ridge library card. Ten checkouts are allowed per card per month. Visit the Hoopla site to sign up and browse the collection. Try our tutorial to help you use Hoopla.
 
Thousands of legal forms for Illinois with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Business, Personal, Real Estate, and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Try our tutorial to help you use Illinois Legal Forms!
 
Kanopy
The Kanopy collection offers a broad selection of more than 30,000 feature films, documentaries, foreign language, and training videos, including the Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, the Frontline series, and international films. Verify you are a library patron by entering your library card number when creating an account and films can be watched from anywhere, anytime, on smartphones, tablets, PCs, and smart TVs. You can watch 8 videos per month! Try our tutorial to help you get started!
 
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Video tutorials on software, web design, business/management skills, financial literacy, job/career skills, social networking, etc. Includes Microsoft Office, Windows, and Mac OS. (This database uses your online catalog password. Any questions, please contact Reference Staff. ) Mobile apps are available.
 
Mango Languages
Offers language learning in Spanish, French, German, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Mandarin Chinese, and Russian. There are also ESL courses for Spanish, Polish and Brazilian Portuguese speakers. Try our tutorial to help you get started!
 
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Online financial information for stocks, funds, and much more! Try our tutorial to help you get started!
 
Historical New York Times (1851-2017)
Digitized cover to cover from 1851-2017. The collection includes access to every page from every available issue.
 
Novelist Plus
Database that can help you search through over 100,000 fiction titles to find books that you would like to read.  Try our tutorial to help you use Novelist Plus.
 
Novelist K-8 Plus
Database that has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for kids in grades K-8. Use it to find just the right books for every reader.
 
OCLC World Discovery Services
Over a dozen databases including WorldCat, ERIC, and MEDLINE provided by the Illinois State Library.
Remote Access is not available
 
Overdrive
Hundreds of digital books, audiobooks, digital videos, and now magazines to download and enjoy anytime, anywhere.   Try our tutorial to help you use Overdrive. There's a new even easier app called Libby available now! You can download it here for Apple, Android, and Windows devices!
 
Digitized Park Ridge Newspapers
Full text, including advertisements and classified ads, fully searchable Park Ridge newspapers.  Coverage:  full run from 1929-1935 and 1937-2020 of the Park Ridge Advocate, Park Ridge Herald, and Park Ridge Herald Advocate, including scraps of the Park Ridge Herald from 1889-1923. Generously provided by the Harold E. Schefdore Gift Fund.
Remote Access is not available
 
Park Ridge Herald Advocate (1995-current)
Find information on community issues and events, education, government, local sports and more
 
Park Ridge Journal (2010-current)
Find information on community issues and events, education, government, local sports and more
 
Park Ridge Public Library Academy
Tutorials to help you use some of our most popular resources like Overdrive, RBdigital and Hoopla!
 
PressReader
Read hundreds of newspapers and magazines from across the U.S. and in foreign languages from around the world.  Try our tutorial to help you use PressReader.
 
Proquest Newsstream
Search for full text-articles in hundreds of newspapers and periodicals, including national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
 
Public Records Online
Public records of new homeowners, new business licenses, foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook County and the surrounding area.
 
Reference Solutions by Data Axle (formerly Reference USA)
This database contains detailed information on U.S. businesses, U.S. residents, U.S. health care providers, Canadian businesses, and Canadian households. Try our tutorial to help you use Reference Solutions. 
 
Science In Context
Information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, and videos. 
 
Teachables
Scholastic Teachables offers teaching resources for every subject such as lesson plans, mini-books and activity sheets to help educators and families plan for the school year. Ideal for teachers, homeschool families, and anyone looking for enrichment for the young learners in their lives. Teachables content extends from Pre-K to 6th grade. 
 
Tumblebooks
Interactive picture books for children to listen to online, along with related games to play. Tumblebooks will work in most tablet and mobile devices web browsers. Try our tutorial to help you use Tumblebooks.
 
Tutor.com
Live one-to-one homework help from tutors is available 3:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m or use the Skills Center 24/7. Try our tutorial to help you get started with Tutor.com!
 
Value Line
Online investment research service including stocks and mutual funds. [Limited to 3 simultaneous users. Please log off when finished!]  Note: If you get an error message, try refreshing the browser. May not be accessible through the Safari browser. Try our tutorial to help you get started with Value Line!
 
World Book Kids
A more colorful version of the online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for children.  
 
World Book Online
The online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for adults and children.  Try our tutorial to get started with World Book!
 
World Book Timelines
Timelines offers hundreds of pre-generate timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.
 
WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide with millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.
 

A-B  C-E  F-I  J-M  N-P  Q-S  T-Z

Some of our databases have mobile apps!
 
Privacy Note: When you use a third-party online resource, you are subject to that organization's privacy policies. You can see a list of the policies for most of our online resources here
 

 

chat loading...
Close