Skip to Main Content

Hugo Award Winners (Best Novel)

Hugo Award Winners (Best Novel)
Awarded since 1953, and named after Hugo Gernsback. These are outstanding contributions to science fiction writing.
The three-body problem
by Cixin Liu

Set against the backdrop of China's Cultural Revolution, a secret military project's signal is received by an alien civilization on the brink of destruction, which plans to invade Earth; meanwhile, on Earth, different camps start forming, planning to either welcome the superior beings and help them take over a world seen as corrupt, or to fight against the invasion.
2015 Hugo Award
Ancillary Justice
by Ann Leckie

Now isolated in a single frail human body, Breq, an artificial intelligence that used to control a massive starship and its crew of soldiers, tries to adjust to her new humanity while seeking vengeance and answers to her questions.

2014 Hugo Award
by John Scalzi

Enjoying his assignment with the Xenobiology lab on board the prestigious Intrepid, ensign Andrew Dahl worries about casualties suffered by low-ranking officers during away missions before making a shocking discovery about the starship's actual purpose. By the award-winning author of Old Man's War.

2013 Hugo Award
Among Others
by Jo Walton

Seeking refuge in fantasy novel worlds throughout a youth under the shadow of a dubiously sane half-brother who dabbled in magic, Mori Phelps is forced to confront her mother in a tragic battle and gains unwanted attention when she attempts to perform spells herself. By the World Fantasy Award-winning author of Tooth and Claw.

2012 Hugo Award
by Connie Willis

Stranded in the past during World War II, three researchers from the future investigate period behavior and seek each other out in a shared effort to return to their own time. By the multiple Nebula and Hugo Award-winning author of The Doomsday Book.

2011 Hugo Award
All Clear
by Connie Willis

A follow-up to Blackout finds its time-traveling protagonists landing during the Blitz of England in World War II. By the Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Nebula Award- and Hugo Award-winning author ofThe Doomsday Book.

2010 Hugo Award (Tie)
The City & the City
by China Miéville

Inspector Tyador Borlú must travel to Ul Qoma to search for answers in the murder of a woman found in the city of Besźel.

2010 Hugo Award (Tie)
The Windup Girl
by Paolo Bacigalupi

Living in a future where food is scarce, Anderson Lake tries to find ways to exploit this need, as he comes into conflict with Jaidee, an official of the Environmental Ministry, and encounters Emiko, a engineered windup girl who has been discarded by her creator.

2010 Hugo Award (Tie)
The Graveyard Book
by Neil Gaiman

Raised since he was a baby by ghosts, werewolves, and other residents of the cemetery in which he has always resided, Bod wonders how he will manage to survive amongst the living with only the lessons he has learned from the dead.

2009 Hugo Award
The Yiddish Policemen's Union
by Michael Chabon

An alternate historical work based on a premise that Alaska became the Jewish homeland after World War II finds detective Meyer Landsman investigating a heroin-addicted chess prodigy's murder, a case with ties to an extremist Orthodox sect.

2008 Hugo Award
Rainbows End
by Vernor Vinge

In a near-future western civilization that is threatened by corruptive practices within its technologically advanced information networks, a recovered Alzheimer's victim, his military son and daughter-in-law, and his middle school-age granddaughter are caught up in a dangerous maelstrom beyond their worst imaginings. By the Hugo Award-winning author of A Deepness in the Sky.

2007 Hugo Award
by Robert Charles Wilson

After witnessing the onset of an astronomical event that has caused the sun to go black and the stars and moon to disappear, Tyler, Jason, and Diane learn that the darkness has been caused by a time-altering, alien-created artificial barrier and that the sun will be extinguished in less than forty years.

2006 Hugo Award
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
by Susanna Clarke

In nineteenth-century England, all is going well for rich, reclusive Mr Norell, who has regained some of the power of England's magicians from the past, until a rival magician, Jonathan Strange, appears and becomes Mr Norrell's pupil.

2005 Hugo Award
Paladin of Souls
by Lois McMaster Bujold

A sequel to The Curse of Chalion finds Ista dy Baocia, the Dowager Royina of Chalion, struggling with painful memories and undertaking a pilgrimage to make a personal atonement to the gods, a quest that is threatened by an evil force.

2004 Hugo Award
by Robert J. Sawyer

The first volume of a new trilogy, the Neanderthal Parallax, focuses on a parallel world in which neanderthals, rather than homo sapiens, became the dominant intelligent species, until a dangerous scientific experiment traps a neanderthal physicist on Earth.

2003 Hugo Award
American Gods
by Neil Gaiman

On the plane home to attend the funerals of his wife and best friend, Shadow, just released from prison, encounters Mr. Wednesday, an enigmatic stranger who seems to know a lot about him, and when Mr. Wednesday offers him a job as his bodyguard, Shadow accepts and is plunged into a dark and perilous world, where the soul of America is at stake.

2002 Hugo Award
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
by J. K. Rowling

Fourteen-year-old Harry Potter joins the Weasleys at the Quidditch World Cup, then enters his fourth year at Hogwarts Academy where he is mysteriously entered in an unusual contest that challenges his wizarding skills, friendships and character, amid signs that an old enemy is growing stronger.

2001 Hugo Award
A Deepness in the Sky
by Vernor Vinge

A return to Arachna, the world of the award-winning A Fire Upon the Deep, journeys back in time thirty thousand years as the Qeng Ho battle the Emergents, and only Pham Numen has a chance to foil the horrendous Emergents' plan.

2000 Hugo Award