Skip to Main Content

Edgar Award Winners

Mr. Mercedes
by Stephen King

Months after a crazed hit-and-run driver kills several attendees at a Midwestern job fair, a depressed retired cop and two unlikely allies join forces to find and stop the killer, who has sent a letter threatening another attack. By the award-winning author of11/22/63.

2015 Edgar Award
Ordinary Grace
by William Kent Krueger

Looking back at a tragic event that occurred during his 13th year, a man explores how a complicated web of secrets, adultery and betrayal shattered his Methodist family and their small 1961 Minnesota community. By the award-winning author of the Cork O'Connor series.

2014 Edgar Award
Live By Night
by Dennis Lehane

In 1926, during the Prohibition, Joe Coughlin defies his strict law-and-order upbringing by climbing a ladder of organized crime that takes him from Boston to Cuba where he encounters a dangerous cast of characters who are all fighting for their piece of the American dream.

2013 Edgar Award
by Mo Hayder

Investigating a serial carjacker whose actual targets are young children in back seats, Jack Caffery teams up once again with police diver Sergeant Flea Marley, whose life is endangered by a discovery in an abandoned, half-submerged tunnel. By the author of The Devil of Nanking.

2012 Edgar Award
The Lock Artist
by Steve Hamilton

After miraculously surviving an act of violence as a child, Michael stops talking and grows up with the ability to open any lock or safe, a talent he sells to any buyer in the crime world, until a botched heist forces him to go home to find the only person he loved--and to face the secret that has kept him so quiet. By an Edgar Award-winning author.

2011 Edgar Award
The Last Child
by John Hart

A year after the disappearance of his twin sister, thirteen-year-old Johnny Merrimon risks everything in a final, desperate search through the dark side of his hometown with the aid of a giant-sized man, while detective Clyde Hunt, unable to forget the unsolved case, chooses to break from convention when a second child goes missing.

2010 Edgar Award
Blue Heaven
by C. J. Box

Fleeing the killers whom they witnessed committing murder, twelve-year-old Annie and her younger brother William escape into the woods of northern Idaho, not knowing whom they can trust and pursued by the murderers and a group of dirty cops seeking to prevent the youngsters from revealing what they know. By the award-winning author of the Joe Pickett mysteries.

2009 Edgar Award
Down River
by John Hart

Five years after fleeing to New York in the wake of a murder acquittal, Adam Harston returns to North Carolina and to a hostile family, only to find himself trapped in the middle of a new case of violence, greed, family secrets, and murder as the people around him begin to die and he becomes the prime suspect in the crimes. By the author of The King of Lies.

2008 Edgar Award
The Janissary Tree
by Jason Goodwin

When the Ottoman Empire of 1836 is shattered by a wave of political murders that threatens to upset the balance of power, eunuch intelligence agent Yashim Togalu conducts an investigation into clues within the empire's once-elite military forces, which had been crushed by the Sultan when they became too powerful. By the author of Lords of the Horizons.

2007 Edgar Award
Citizen Vince
by Jess Walter

Beginning his witness-protection job at a doughnut restaurant in the week before the 1980 presidential election, small-time thief Vince Camden finds himself unwittingly embroiled in a local politician's troubles, involved in a credit-card scam, and torn between relationships with a beautiful law clerk and a neurotic prostitute.

2006 Edgar Award
California Girl
by T. Jefferson Parker

Living in politically driven Orange County, California, of the late 1960s, the three Becker brothers pursue leads relevant to their respective careers as a homicide detective, a minister, and a reporter erupting when the body of a woman from a childhood rival family is found murdered. By the award-winning author of Silent Joe andCold Pursuit.

2005 Edgar Award
Resurrection Men
by Ian Rankin

Sent to a rehabilitation school after a serious mistake, Inspector John Rebus discovers that among his fellow "resurrection men" are a group of classmates plotting a drug heist and joins forces with his protege, Detective Sergeant Siobhan Clarke to investigate ties to an art dealer's murder, a crime that could lead to scandal and danger at the highest level of law enforcement.

2004 Edgar Award
Winter and Night
by S. J. Rozan

When his nephew Greg is arrested in New York City and then escapes, Bill Smith, along with his partner Lydia Chin, sets out to find Greg and, hoping to locate his estranged sister, arrives in a small New Jersey town, where he is confronted by dark secrets, both the town's and his own, forcing him to face the past in order to save his nephew.

2003 Edgar Award
Silent Joe
by T. Jefferson Parker

Rescued from an orphanage by Will Trona, a politician, Joe is swept into the maelstrom of power and intimidation that surrounds his adoptive father, but when Will is murdered and Joe begins a manhunt for the killer, he learns of the many secrets his father possessed.

2002 Edgar Award
The Bottoms
by Joe R. Lansdale

When young Harry Crane stumbles upon a mutilated body in the local river bottoms, the region beomes trapped in a nightmare of fear and racial tension, as a vicious serial killer stalks the town, a man is lynched, and local law enforcement races against time to find the murderer, in a suspenseful tale set in Depression-era East Texas.

2001 Edgar Award
Bones : an Irene Kelly Mystery
by Jan Burke

Vicious serial killer Nicholas Parrish agrees to exchange information about the location of the body of a missing woman, Judith Sayre, for a deal in which authorities will not seek the death penalty for his crimes, an agreement that traps journalist Irene Kelly in the remote wilderness with a murderer.

2000 Edgar Award