Skip to Main Content

Databases for Genealogy

We have 60+ databases to give our patrons access to information  that is not easily found on the Internet. 
You will need your Library card to use them from home. Some of our databases have mobile apps!

Check out our Genealogy websites too! Return to full list of databases. Some of our resources have mobile apps!

America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Online collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the United States. Generously provided by the Bruce A. Michel Library Trust.
Click here for Library Access
Click here for Remote Access w/Library Card
Ancestry Library Edition
Online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
Remote Access is not available
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Enables you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. You can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.
Biography in Context
This resource combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to websites.
Current Biography
Current Biography Illustrated has more than 15,000 full text biographies, more than 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 images from 1940 to the present
Chicago Tribune (1985 - present)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1985 - present.
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1992)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1849-1992. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue.
Chicagoland Newspapers
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2010-present) and Park Ridge Herald Advocate (1995-present) full text articles.
Heritage Quest
Census records, family and local histories, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), and more.
Historical New York Times (1851-2012)
Digitized cover to cover from 1851-2012 The collection includes access to every page from every available issue.
Proquest Newsstand
Search for full text-articles in hundreds of newspapers and periodicals, including national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide with millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.

Check out our Genealogy websites too! 

Return to full list of databases

Some of our resources have mobile apps!