# MINUTES

#### PARK RIDGE PUBLIC LIBRARY

20 S. Prospect Avenue, Park Ridge, IL 60068

Communications and Development Committee of the Whole Meeting of the Board of Trustees held in the First Floor Meeting Room at the Library on March 14, 2023 at 7:00 p.m.

# ROLL CALLTrustees Present:Lauren Rapisand and Theresa Renaldi, Committee Co-Chairs, Alexandrea Hanba, Josh Kiem,<br/>Danielle Powers, Gregg Rusk, David Somheil, Joseph Steinfels, Deepika ThiagarajanOthers Present:Joanna Bertucci, Library Director; Angela Berger and John Priala Library Staff;

Trustee Renaldi called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m.

# MINUTES

President Hanba made aMOTION:to approve the minutes of April 12, 2022Trustee Thiagarajan seconded the motion.Voice Vote:Yes: Hanba, Kiem, Powers, Rapisand, Rusk, Somheil, Steinfels, Thiagarajan<br/>Abstain: Renaldi

# Motion passed

# LIBRARY AWARD NOMINATIONS

Trustee Rapisand explained that she and Trustee Renaldi met with Director Bertucci prior to tonight's meeting in order to discuss the three nominations received for this year's Library Award. She also noted that the nominations had been forwarded to all trustees prior to this meeting. She indicated that the nominees would be discussed tonight in the order in which they were sent to the trustees. She further noted that all three of the nominees were either employed by the Library or were paid for their services. Trustee Kiem expressed his concern with the fact that one of the nominees is a vendor of the Library. Trustee Rapisand stated that she did not want the award to be viewed as a staff service award. Director Bertucci suggested that in the future, the Board might wish to make this award on a two or three year cycle rather than annually. Further discussion ensued with regard to the nominees. It was the recommendation of the co-chairs that Nominee #2 receive this year's award.

Trustee Steinfels made a

MOTION:to approve awarding the 2023 Library Award to Nominee #2Trustee Rapisand seconded the motion.Voice Vote:Yes: Hanba, Powers, Rapisand, Renaldi, Rusk, Somheil, Steinfels, Thiagarajan<br/>No: Kiem

# Motion passed

OTHER

None

The meeting was adjourned at 8:14 p.m.