Skip to Main Content

Databases for Science

We have 60+ databases to give our patrons access to information  that is not easily found on the Internet. 
You will need your Library card to use them from home. Some of our databases have mobile apps!


Check out our Science websites too! Return to full list of databases. Some of our resources have mobile apps!

Academic OneFile

A collection of full-text articles with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and other subjects.
Chicago Tribune (1985 - present)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1985 - present.
Chicagoland Newspapers
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2011-present) and Park Ridge Herald Advocate (1995-present) full text articles.
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.  
Gale's Virtual Reference Library
More than 200 full text reference sources including arts, biography, business, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos and Alternative Health.
OmniFile Full Text Select
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Contains information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues
Science in Context
Information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, and videos. Generously provided by the Bruce A. Michel Library Trust.
Student Resources in Context
Information on hundreds of topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, and videos.
World Book
The online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for adults and children.  
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide with millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.


Check out our Science websites too!
Return to
full list of databases.
Some of our databases have
mobile apps!