Skip to Main Content

Databases for Readers

We have 60+ databases to give our patrons access to information  that is not easily found on the Internet. 
You will need your Library card to use them from home. Some of our databases have mobile apps!

Return to full list of databases.
Some of our resources have mobile apps!
   
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Enables you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information. You can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.
Biography in Context
This resource combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to websites.
Books in Print
Database of book, audiobook, and video titles which also contains books out of print, bestseller database (over 100 years) and a database of author biographies.
Click here for Remote Access w/Library Card

Chicago Tribune (1985 - present)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1985 - present.
Click here for Remote Access w/Library Card

Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1992)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1849-1992. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue.
Chicagoland Newspapers
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2010-present) and Park Ridge Herald Advocate (1995-present) full text articles.
Click here for Remote Access w/Library Card
 
Current Biography Illustrated
Current Biography Illustrated has more than 15,000 full text biographies, more than 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 images from 1940 to the present
eRead Illinois Digital Catalog
A new service that offers additional eBooks for checkout. Limit 5 checkouts at a time. Visit the eRead Illinois Digital Catalog to browse the collection and check out eBooks. eRead Illinois is supported by the Illinois Secretary of State through the Illinois State Library.
eSequels
eSequels helps identify the books in a series in the correct reading sequence. It can be searched by author, title, character, location, subject, or keyword. Each title has a short summary included

Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 200 full text reference sources including arts, biography, business, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Historical New York Times (1851-2012)
Digitized cover to cover from 1851-2012 The collection includes access to every page from every available issue.
 
Novelist Plus
Database that can help you search through over 100,000 fiction titles to find books that you would like to read.

Novelist K-8
Database that can help you search through over 100,000 fiction titles to find books that you would like to read.
Thousands of digital books, audiobooks and digital videos to download and enjoy anytime, anywhere.  

Scribner Writers Series
Access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods. Part of GVRL.
Twayne's Authors Series
Features the content of nearly 900 books from six print series — U.S. Authors Series Classic, English Writers Series Classic, World Authors Series Classic, Masterwork Studies, Studies in Short Fiction, and updated editions of U.S. Authors, World Authors, and English Authors. Part of GVRL.
WorldBook Online
The online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for adults and children.  

WorldCat
Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide with millions of bibliographic records representing 400 languages. Part of OCLC FirstSearch.
 
Return to full list of databases. Some of our databases have mobile apps!
Close