Skip to Main Content

Databases for History

Our 60+ databases provide our patrons with information not easily found on the Internet. You will need your Library card to use them from home.
 

Check out our History websites too! Return to full list of databases. Some of our resources have mobile apps!

Academic OneFile
A collection of full-text articles with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, and other subjects.
Biography Resource Center
This resource combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands of images, and links to websites.
Chicago Tribune (1985 - present)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1985 - present.
Historical Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1992)
Full-text of the newspaper from 1849-1992. The collection provides access to every page from every available issue.
Chicagoland Newspapers
Daily Herald (1995-present), Park Ridge Journal (2011-present) and Park Ridge Herald Advocate (1995-present) full text articles.
General OneFile
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.  
Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 200 full text reference sources including arts, biography, business, history, literature, medicine, and more.
Historical New York Times (1851-2012)
Digitized cover to cover from 1851-2012 The collection includes access to every page from every available issue.
OmniFile Full Text Select
Full text articles in science, humanities, education and business.
Student Resources in Context
Information on hundreds of topics with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, and videos.
World Book Online
The online multimedia version of the popular print encyclopedia for adults and children.  
 
Check out our History websites too! Return to full list of databases. Some of our databases have mobile apps
Close